The state of Georgia takes crimes like robbery seriously. From mandatory minimum sentences to penalties for repeat offenders, you could face some serious consequences if you’re convicted of robbery in the Peach State.
It’s important that defendants understand the penalties faced for committing a robbery in Georgia and the factors that impact the type of charges they might encounter. With an experienced defense attorney by your side, you could get your sentence reduced or even beat the charge entirely.
Cobb County Defense Attorney Kim Frye has spent the last decade and a half defending the people of Georgia from criminal charges like robbery. From Frye Law Group, here’s a rundown on the penalties for robbery in Georgia.
Types of robbery
The first step in understanding the penalties you face for robbery is finding out which type of charge you’re facing.
There are three types of robbery in Georgia:
- Simple robbery is defined as taking a person’s property in their immediate presence by use of force, threat of force, intimidation, or sudden snatching.
- Armed robbery adds the element of using or appearing to use a weapon while robbing someone. This means it doesn’t have to be a real weapon; using an unloaded gun or a toy knife, or even keeping your hand in your pocket could all qualify as armed robbery.
- Armed robbery of a pharmacy incurs extra penalties for the defendant. This is defined as taking a controlled substance from a pharmacy or other drug dispensary by armed robbery.
Penalties for the different types of robbery
Each of these three charges can result in different criminal penalties, also taking into account the circumstances of the robbery.
- Penalties for simple robbery
Penalties include paying a fine between $1,000 to $10,000, and serving a sentence of one to 20 years in prison. If victims are 65 years or older then the sentence range is five to 20 years. In addition, if the value of the property taken was below $500, it could be charged simply as a misdemeanor.
- Penalties for armed robbery
Penalties include paying a fine between $1,000 to $10,000 and a sentence between five to 20 years behind bars; however, depending on the circumstances of the case, armed robbery may lead to a sentence of life in prison.
- Penalties for armed robbery of a pharmacy
Penalties are the same as armed robbery, but with a minimum prison sentence of 10 years. If the offender intentionally injured a person while committing the robbery, the charge may include a minimum of 15 years in prison.
What to do if you’re accused of robbery in Georgia
Since the penalties for robbery in Georgia have the potential to be so high, it’s crucial that you consult with a defense attorney as soon as possible. A defense attorney will have the experience and understanding of the law to help you through the process, and make sure your future is protected.
If the prosecution has a strong case against you, your attorney might advise you to take a plea deal. Given the right circumstances, you could get a lesser charge, or at least have your sentence reduced. But with a good defense attorney, you may even be able to get your charges dropped, or be acquitted in trial.
Contact Frye Law Group today to get started on your defense
Our team of attorneys at Frye Law Group knows how to protect you when the government wants to jail you. Contact us today to schedule a free consultation.